New Hampshire Pharmacy Technician Training Programs

New Hampshire pharmacy technician training programs

The State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy has a number of requirements for pharmacy technicians. First, all pharmacy technicians must register with the Board in order to be employed by a pharmacy and “assist in performing, under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist, manipulative, non-discretionary functions associated with the practice of pharmacy and other such duties and subject to such restrictions as the Board has specified.” Next, all pharmacy technicians must renew registration annually on March 31.

The following information covers minimum requirements set forth by the State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy:

(a) No person shall perform the functions or duties of a pharmacy technician unless such person is registered by the board.

(b) Application form PT-1 for registration of pharmacy technicians in New Hampshire may be obtained from and shall be filed at the office of the board, identified in Ph 103.03.

(c) An applicant for registration as a registered pharmacy technician shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age or have a high school or equivalent diploma, or be working to achieve a high school or equivalent diploma;

(2) Be of good moral character;

(3) Shall not have been convicted of a drug-related felony or admitted to sufficient facts to warrant such findings; and

(4) Shall have training or experience as determined by the pharmacist-in-charge.

(d) Applicants for registration shall submit an application form PT-1 for registration to the board that contains the following:

(1) Name, residence address, home telephone number and social security number of the applicant;

(2) Date and place of birth of the applicant;

(3) Name of current employer and address of employment site;

(4) Record of convictions of violations of federal, state or local drug or pharmacy related laws or regulations;

(5) Any felony convictions;

(6) Applicant's signature and date; and

(7) The prescribed fee which shall be $25.

It is important to note that registration and renewal are the minimum requirements needed to use the title “pharmacy technician.” If you have a high school diploma or GED, consider enrolling in a pharmacy technician training program at a local college. Once you have completed the program, you should also consider national certification. Many employers prefer candidates with a diploma/certificate or degree, experience, and certification.

Certification may be obtained by taking one of two certification exams including the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) exam or the ExCPT exam. Both exams are accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).

Regarding training programs, the schools listed below are considered the best in the State of New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Schools with Pharmacy Technician Training Programs:

Ultimate Medical Academy Online
Programs available:
  • A.S.- Health Sciences (Pharmacy Technician)

Pharmacy Technician Programs – New Hampshire Colleges

Intercoast Career Institute - Salem

Manchester Community College - Manchester